Learn / Tips

Saturday’s Snickety Tip #3

Snickety Tip #3: Vinegar restores your hairs natural shine and balances your skins PH level!

If you read our blog post that talks about PH levels in soap, then you know that too often the products we use strip our natural oils leaving our bodies vulnerable to germs and prone to drying. This Saturday’s Snickety Tip will show you how easy it is to restore your natural PH levels. Restoring your natural PH levels can make a huge difference for your hair and scalp in particular.

Your hair, like your skin, needs to be at a certain PH level. Often, shampoo’s and conditioners strip your hair and scalp of its natural oils, changing their PH levels and leaving you with dry, brittle hair and either an overly oily scalp or dry, itchy, flaky scalp.

The cosmetics industries response to this is not necessarily to solve this problem by creating PH balance shampoo’s and conditioners. Instead, they create another product to “fix” the issue they created in the first place that is full of chemicals. Enter dandruff shampoo and conditioner containing Pyrithione Zinc. This chemical scores a “4” on the Environmental Watch Groups (EWG) Skin Deep Cosmetics Database. It is expected to be an environmental toxin. It is also a “persistent or bio-accumulative and moderate to high toxicity concern in humans” and “in wildlife.”

What does bio-accumulative mean?

It basically means that the more you use it the more it builds up in your system. In this case, today’s tip could easily be; the more you use dandruff products, the more toxic they become. That’s not good news.

So, you are telling me I should use vinegar instead of dandruff products?

Yes, that is exactly right! White vinegar restores the PH levels of both your hair and skin. Simply rinse your hair and scalp in white vinegar after you shampoo and wash at least once a week. You can also use it as a toner for your face!

But, vinegar stinks!

Yep, I know, I really dislike the smell of vinegar myself. However, the great thing about vinegar is that the smell disappears quickly. Add a few drops of essential oil or rose water to the vinegar and shake well. When the vinegar scent disappears, you will be left smelling like a great essential oil or like fresh roses.

Rose water is great for your skin!

Essential oils that are great for your skin and hair are:

Neroli, Sandalwood, Chamomile (Roman and German), Lavender, Helichrysum, Ylang-Ylang, and any other gentle essential oil that is known for its moisturizing properties.

If you found this tip useful please pass it along :-)!

5 thoughts on “Saturday’s Snickety Tip #3

  1. My husband uses dandruff shampoo and conditioner. It’s one of those 2-in-1 kinds (I won’t name the brand but I am sure you can guess which one it is). I had no idea that the stuff in it builds up in his system and can be toxic.
    Thanks so much for the tip!

  2. I’ve been using vinegar as a rinse for years and I love it! Usually, I put a very small amount (because its pricey and strong) of jasmine essential oil in it and my hair smells so good after about ten minutes. Great tip.

  3. Are there any essential oils that are good for the scalp and for men? I don’t want to smell like a bunch of flowers ;-).

    • Dave,

      I love sandalwood for both men and women, but it is a dwindling resource. I suggest using it very sparingly and ensuring you get it from a reputable company that purchased sandalwood through the proper channels. 

      I also like cedar wood and rosewood as they are woodsy yet won’t leave you smelling like a pine tree ;-). 

      Lavender is a perfect unisex scent and is great for hair.

  4. My daughter suggested I check out your Saturday Snickety Tip. She must think I need it. I am going to give the Vinegar a try and see if she notices the difference. I will let you know the restults. Thanks for the tip

Leave a Reply

